Gilles Touré, the women’s MAN

Image

When it comes to fashion in Cote d’Ivoire, where I’m from, there are names that strike the attention and that’s the case for Gilles Touré.

He’s one of Cote d’Ivoire greatest fashion designers, and also the women’s man.

Just like me, he studied Economics and graduated from it, but didn’t pursue a career into that area. Instead, he studied fashion for 3 years in Paris, and obtained an internship with Paco Rabanne (how lucky!). After that, he came back home and started blowing everybody’s mind, and he really did.

The most interesting part about this designer is that all his clothes are made of Ankara. Well maybe not all, but most of them, and that is something I really admire. He keeps the african roots alive, and I understand why every woman in Cote d’Ivoire swears by him. He’s the MAN!

He takes the Haute Couture and makes it its own, makes it in the african way. His designs are the perfect mix of elegance, class and style (always style).

He works in collaboration with great names when it comes to Ankara fabrics. Among those, you can count: VLISCO and UNIWAX. These two houses of fabrics are classified among the best prints and those prints reflect excellently on clothes.

Plus, I have to say that he has charisma!

Here are some of his designs and you’ll agree with me that the MAN has got what it takes to make a woman go crazy about his designs. Any woman would want to own a whole dressing full of his designs (I’d actually love it).

Image

 

You agree with that this is one mind blowing design. I love the fabric, the colors and how the model is rocking it.

 

Image

This dress was designed last year for the 50th anniversar of the independance of my dear country. I would wear that anyday. He designed it in a very elegant and classy way.

Image

This was last year, when Gilles teamed up with UNIWAX. See what I was talking about? The prints reflect extremely well on those dresses. I looove them.

To be honest, I’m very proud to have this man as one of my idols and wish that one day, I’ll have the occasion or the luck to work with him and come up with a whole collection for women, exclusively women.

On that note,

Peace and Class darlings!

Laisser un commentaire